Where is Spanish spoken?

United States of America

Interestingly the United States has no official national language, although the most common language is American English.

Spanish is the second most common language in the country with over 35 million speakers since the Immigration Act of 1965. Many other immigrants brought their languages to the country and some are still in use today including German, Korean, Polish, Italian and Russian. Although as older generations die, the use of these languages is slowly decreasing.

Some Native American languages still exist but sadly these are never spoken outside of reservations.

There are two states in America which are de facto bilingual. These are Louisiana which legally recognises English and French, and New Mexico which has both English and Spanish as their de facto languages. The state of Alaska also recognises many Native languages as official and provides voting information in Iñupiaq, Central Yup'ik, Gwich'in, Siberian Yupik, Koyukon, and Tagalog, as well as English. There are now 52 languages which are extinct, all of which were formerly spoken in the country’s territory.
Population: 314,000,000
Languages: SpanishminorityEnglish
Time Zone: UTC-10:00 to -05:00 (DST UTC-10:00 to -04:00)
Calling code: +1
Currency: United States dollar

Polly Ambassadors from United States of America

Embajadores Polly provenientes de


Change language Flag fr French Flag es Spanish Flag en English Flag it Italian Flag de German Flag pt Portuguese