Switzerland has three official languages: German, French and Italian. There is also a fourth national language called Romansh a Germanic-infused Latin language similar to French, but it is only used in certain municipalities of Graubünden.

About 64% of the population speaks German, 20% French, 6.5% Italian, 0.4% Romansh, and 9% a combination.

The Italian spoken in certain parts of Switzerland are sometimes referred to as Lombardi, which incorporates Germanic grammatical phrasing that is not always mutually intelligible with standard Italian.
Population: 7,800,000
Languages: FrenchofficialItalianofficialGermanofficial
Time Zone: UTC+01:00 (DST UTC+02:00)
Calling code: +41

Polly Ambassadors from Switzerland

Ambassadeurs Polly de Suisse


See more ambassadors
Voir plus d'ambassadeurs

Countries where French is spoken

Pays dans lesquels le français est parlé

Dependent territories where French is spoken

Dépendances territoriales où le français est parlé

States where French is a predominant language

États où le français est une langue prédominante

Provinces that speak French

Provinces où l'on parle français

Transnational organizations where French is an official language

Organisations internationales pour lesquelles le français est une langue officielle

Change language Français Español English Italiano Deutsch Português